The ReLit Long Shortlists are out and we’re proud to congratulate six Transatlantic authors on the lists!

Under the “Novel” category we’re congratulating Zoe Whittall for The Best Kind of People (House of Anansi Press) and Jared Young for Into the Current (Goose Lane Editions). Our congratulations continue for the “Short Fiction” category, under which Russell Wangersky‘s The Path of Most Resistance (Astoria Press), Kris Bertin‘s Bad Things Happen (Biblioasis), Leesa Dean‘s Waiting for the Cyclone (Brindle & Glass), and Chad Pelley‘s Four-Letter Words (Breakwater Books Ltd.) have been long-shortlisted.

These annual awards have been deemed by The Globe and Mail as “The country’s pre-eminent literary prize recognizing independent presses” and have been said to bring a “welcome, back-to-the-books focus to the craft” ( for celebrating the best Canadian literature published by independent presses.

Winners receive the ReLit Ring, which has four moveable dials, each one struck with the entire alphabet. The ring was designed by Newfoundland jewellery designer Christopher Kearney.

For the full Long Shortlists, please visit: Good luck to all the authors up for this year’s ReLit Awards!