Congratulations to Benjamin Hertwig who has been awarded the Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry by the Writers’ Guild of Alberta for his debut collection, Slow War (McGill-Queen’s University Press)!

This annual award recognizes excellence in writing by Alberta authors. The 2018 winners were selected from 260 submissions.

Benjamin is the recipient of a National Magazine Award for personal journalism, the Prairie Fire Non Fiction Award and the Glass Buffalo Poetry Prize. His fiction, non-fiction, and poetry have appeared in the New York TimesPrairie Schoonerthe Maine ReviewNPRthe WalrusTHISRicepaperMaisonneuvethe Literary Review of CanadaSouthwordCV2GeezFreefallPleiades, and Alberta Views, among others.

For a full list of this years winners click here: