Join all of us at Transatlantic in congratulating Samra Habib and Andrew Reeves for making the 2020 RBC Charles Taylor Prize longlist.

Samra is nominated for WE HAVE ALWAYS BEEN HERE: A Queer Muslim Memoir (Viking) and Andrew is nominated for OVERRUN: Dispatches from the Asian Carp Crisis (ECW Press).

About the RBC Charles Taylor Prize:

Established in 1998 by the trustees of the Charles Taylor Foundation and first awarded in 2000, the RBC Taylor Prize commemorates Charles Taylor’s pursuit of excellence in the field of literary non-fiction. Awarded to the author whose book best combines a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style, and a subtlety of thought and perception, the Prize consists of $30,000 for the winner and $5,000 for each of the remaining finalists. All authors are presented with a custom leather-bound version of their shortlisted book at the awards ceremony. All finalists receive promotional support for their nominated titles.

The RBC Taylor Prize shortlist will be announced on Wednesday January 8, 2020, and the winner will be revealed on Monday March 2, 2020, after which the award will discontinue.

To find out more about the prize and to see the complete longlist, please visit:

Samra is represented by Samantha Haywood and Andrew Reeves is represented by Shaun Bradley.