The Atlantic Book Awards works to promote and acknowledge excellence in Atlantic Canadian writing and book publishing through an annual awards ceremony and related events. Five Transatlantic clients have been shortlisted for the 2020 Awards:

A Dark House and Other Stories by Ian Colford (A Nimbus Imprint) and Dig by Terry Doyle (Breakwater Books) have been shortlisted for the Alistair MacLeod Prize for Short Fiction, which is presented to a collection of short fiction by an Atlantic Canada author. Ian Colford and Terry Doyle are represented by Stephanie Sinclair.

Dig was also shortlisted for the Margaret and John Savage First Book Award! The First Book Award is given to two books, one fiction and one nonfiction, by debut authors from Atlantic Canada. 

Crow by Amy Spurway (Goose Lane Editions) has been nominated for the Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award! The Dartmouth book awards are given to two books, one fiction and one nonfiction, which have contributed the most to the enjoyment and understanding of Nova Scotia and its people. Amy Spurway is represented by Marilyn Biderman.

Hell and Damnation:  A Sinner’s Guide to Eternal Torment by Marq de Villiers (University of Regina Press) has been shortlisted for the Evelyn Richardson Non-Fiction Award! The award is given to a Nova Scotia writer of non-fiction. Marq de Villiers is represented by Shaun Bradley.

The Wake:  The Deadly Legacy of a Newfoundland Tsunami by Linden MacIntyre (HarperCollins Canada) has been nominated for the Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing! The Award for Scholarly Writing recognizes and promotes literary achievement in the Social Sciences and Humanities fields – including, but not limited to, history, philosophy, religion, anthropology, regional studies, communication, cultural studies and linguistics. Linden MacIntyre is represented by Shaun Bradley.

To see the full list of nominees, please visit: