The Surrey Schools’ Book of the Year Award Program is one of the student reader’s choice programs sponsored by the Surrey School District in Surrey, British Columbia. Students are encouraged to read individually or have read to them as many titles as possible, prior to voting for their favorite title each May.

A Wolf Called Wander by Rosanne Parry was published by Greenwillow Books and has been on the New York Times Bestseller list for over 35 weeks! Swift, a young wolf cub, travels one thousand miles across the Pacific Northwest through forest fires, hunters, highways, and hunger before he finds his new home.

Rosanne Parry is the author of the novels Heart of a Shepherd and Last of the Name, among other acclaimed titles. She lives with her family in an old farmhouse in Portland, Oregon, and writes in a treehouse in her backyard. Rosanne is represented by Fiona Kenshole.

Me and Banksy by Tanya Lloyd Kyi was published by Puffin Canada. Dominica’s private school is covered in cameras, and someone is hacking into them and posting embarrassing moments for the whole school to see. Like Ana picking her nose. When Dominica quickly changes her shirt from inside out in what she thinks is the privacy of a quiet corner in the library, she’s shocked — and embarrassed — to discover a video has captured this and is currently circulating amongst her schoolmates. Who has access to the school security cameras and why are they doing this? Dominica and her best friends, Holden and Saanvi, are determined to find out, and in the process start an art-based student campaign against cameras in the classroom.

Tanya Lloyd Kyi has worked as a typesetter, graphic designer and photo editor before pursing writing full-time. She is the author of many non-fiction titles, including Shadow Warrior, recently nominated for the ALA’s Amelia Bloomer Project List and DNA Detective, shortlisted for the OLA Red Maple Award and the Red Cedar Award. Her published novels for young readers include Anywhere but Here, Prince of Pot, and Mya’s Strategy to Save the World. Tanya is represented by Amy Tompkins.

To see the full list of nominees, please visit: