The Writers’ Union of Canada (TWUC) is the national organization of professional published writers. The annual Short Prose Competition for Emerging Writers includes a selection of union members donating their time and expertise to reading submissions and distilling them into a longlist, which goes on to a second round before being passed to the Final Jury. This year, Tanya Boteju, Wayne Grady, and Thea Lim served as the Jury. In addition to the cash prize for the winner, the Union submits the winning story and eleven other shortlisted stories to three Canadian magazine publishers for consideration. 

 Zilla Jones is an African-Canadian lawyer, anti-racist educator, mother, singer and writer from Treaty 1 territory and the homeland of the Metis nation (Winnipeg.) Although she has been writing since the age of three, she only began submitting her work in the fall of 2019. Since then, she has been longlisted for the CBC short fiction competition, shortlisted twice for the Writers Union of Canada short prose competition – most recently with three stories on the list, the Fiddlehead magazine short story competition, the Missouri Review Perkoff Prize, the Masters Review Anthology X, and the Freefall Magazine short prose contest (in progress.) She won Honourable Mention in the Room magazine short fiction contest, and first place in the GritLit short story contest, Malahat Review Open Season contest, and Prism Magazine Jacob Zilber short fiction prize. Her fiction has appeared in print in Prairie Fire, the Malahat Review and Prism, and online in Room and the Puritan Review. 

Zilla is represented by Chelene Knight. 

To see the full list of finalists, please visit: