The Alberta Literary Awards were created by the Writers’ Guild of Alberta in 1982 to recognize excellence in writing by Alberta authors. Our juries deliberated on more than 300 submissions to select winners in the following categories. Finalists represent excellence in literary work written by Alberta authors and published or created in 2020-21. 

WHEN YOU LEAST EXPECT IT by Lorna Schultz Nicholson (Red Deer Press) won the R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature Award at the 2022 Alberta Book Awards. Lorna Schultz Nicholson is the author of many books about Canadian sports figures, as well as the celebrated One-to-One series of novels. A former radio host and health & lifestyle reporter, she is now a full-time author and presenter. She lives with her family in Edmonton.

LOOKOUT by Trina Moyles (Random House Canada) won the Memoir Award at the 2022 Alberta Book Awards. Trina Moyles is a writer, photographer, potter, and seasonal smoke spotter in the northern boreal. She is the author of Women Who Dig: Farming, Feminism, and the Fight to Feed the World. Her award-winning writing has been published in The Globe and Mail, The Walrus, Alberta Views, Maisonneuve, Hakai Magazine, and many other publications. She lives, writes, and adventures in northwestern Alberta with her canine sidekick, Holly.

Lorna is represented by Amy Tompkins, and Trina is represented by Marilyn Biderman.

To see the full list of winners, please visit: